Critically Wounded and dying in the Jungle

A true American hero.

 
I’ve been fortunate in my internet experience.  I’ve meet some very nice people, a few not-so-nice, but mostly it’s been my pleasure to meet real -people.  I even first met my husband on the internet some 15 years ago now, tomorrow will be our 13th Anniversary.  You’re thinking to yourself right now, “Real-People” you say, “of course they are real people.” But you see, not everyone on the internet is real.  Some are ‘fake’ in that they pretend to be one thing, and are really quite the opposite. Like the guy you meet, that one day you find out all along he’s really a human-traffickic’er, and you think, “man, I never would have believed it if I hadn’t seen him arrested and the children they pulled out of his house with my own eyes. I’ve lived next door to him for 4 years now, and I’ve never seen a hint of a child living there.”      This is a prime example of some of the fake people you can meet on the internet and while I’ve never met someone who has done that specific terrible thing.  I have met one giving false hope to those who deserve much better, while pretending to be a 2nd and sometimes a 3rd person too.  I’ve met those who fight to the side of the righteous only to find out, they are really quite the opposite.  I’ve even met a person on here who tried to blackmail me into working for them for free. 
 
So you see when I say you have an opportunity to meet some real people what I mean is, real-people. These are the folks  who are comfortable enough in their skin to tell the truth even when you’d rather hear a lie.  These are the folks that love deeply and forever and are always true to their beloved. These are the rare form of Homo-Sapiens who believe loyalty is a lifestyle rather than some nice concept when it’s convenient.  
 
These people are more often than not, those rare human-beings who have survived against all odds and continue now in a peaceful existence wanting only to enjoy life, to stop and smell the roses  and to remember those whose self-less acts have left them in awe while touching lives and changing forever the hardened path friends or colleagues were walking on when they met this ‘real person’  They are normally the shy ones. Or the ones who never talk about themselves as they are much to interested in how you’re doing and what you have to say. You may have never met your “real-people” friend in real-life, but they have still been your friend for years and while continue to always be your friend. 
 
So as you read this today if you pray, please say a prayer of hope to those who come after this great man who carry his blood in their veins,  please say  a prayer of thanksgiving for those whose lives he touched and forever changed.  There’s one more prayer I am hoping you’ll say,  please give thanks this man walked the earth up until this day.
~Elaine.  February 24th, 3012 : 03:41
inspired by my real-person friend, Eric Hagedorn  who share this story about a real-person with me, who received it from “It’s a Wonderful Life” -fb page.
And as you say these prayers today to God, or Allah or another Deity, I think you, see, to me, it makes no difference which god you pray to, as it’s the journey and not the destination, it is the act and sentiment that matters.  I honestly can’t imagine a god who wouldn’t feel the same way.
 
 
 
Ed Freeman Died at age 80 in Boise, ID
Ed Freeman Died at age 80 in Boise, ID
 

You’re an 19 year old kid. You’re critically wounded , and dying in the jungle in the Ia Drang Valley , 11-14-1965, LZ X-ray, Vietnam . Your infantry unit is outnumbered 8 – 1, and the enemy fire is so intense, from 100 or 200 yards away, that your own Infantry Commander has ordered the MediVac helicopters to stop coming in.  You’re lying there, listening to the enemy machine guns, and you know you’re not getting out. Your family is 1/2 way around the world, 12,000 miles away, and you’ll never see them again. As the world starts to fade in and out , you know this is the day.  Then, over the machine gun noise, you faintly hear that sound of a helicopter, and you look up to see an un-armed Huey, but it doesn’t seem real, because no Medi-Vac markings are on it.  Ed Freeman is coming for you. He’s not Medi-Vac, so it’s not his job, but he’s flying his Huey down into the machine gun fire, after the Medi-Vacs were ordered not to come.  He’s coming anyway.  And he drops it in, and sits there in the machine gun fire, as they load 2 or 3 of you on board.  Then he flies you up and out through the gunfire, to the Doctors and Nurses.  And, he kept coming back…. 13 more times…..  And took about 30 of you and your buddies out, who would never have gotten out.  Medal of Honor Recipient , Ed Freeman , died  at the age of 80, in Boise , ID ……May God rest his soul….. I bet you didn’t hear about this hero’s passing.