Activism & The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

What makes subjects like Human Rights and Civil Rights burn and  imprint on some and to others these matters seem less important?

This is a question I’ve asked myself since I was growing up in the 1960’s and my mother was looking at her 8 year old saying ” it’s not right Mom, they can’t do that, it’s against our civil rights” my mom would reply “JoDene, you should have been born ten years earlier.”  Looking at her in earnest I would say “why mom, don’t you like me at this age?”  and her reply was simple “It’s not that, if you had been born 10 years earlier then right now, you would be a great Radical Leader.”  Of course back then I didn’t really understand the concept or rather the ramifications of what the word radical could imply.  But some things have always pulled on my heart-strings¹ as strong today as they did so many years ago as a little girl who should have been worrying about dolls rather than going fishing or working in the fields  the mornings and wondering if Kent State was going to happen again in the afternoons. Some people would propose items such as Kent State helped to mold me into the Activist I am today.  I would disagree simply because I know the tugs on my heart when looking at racoon that’s been run over, or the piles of fish left on the banks of Seward to rot when the Kings are running, or a kitten following me home  all feel the same to me.  It’s that tug when you know something happened that should not have.  Some quirk of the Universe changed some path at the precise moment that cut life short, or wasted it without remorse. When I see an eight or a nine year old holding an AK-47  it pulls on my heart strings also only in a much different way. When I see the autracities Man-kind perpetrates on it’s own,  it makes me wonder if Man-kind as a species should continue on at all.  Perhaps the earth would be better off without man.  Actually, I don’t even know why I just said that, Of Course it would be better off without man. (#nobrainer) You will be seeing alot more posts from me on the subject of Activism and news relating to Activism.  I will try and break them up into items which are more relevant on a global perspective or a US perspective but we are a global community now, and you know the old saying “separate is not equal” and so I recant my previous statement and will not separate American from other global issues.   Often they are all related in one way or another.  If you want to follow my Activism Tweets, please follow @ActivismRocks , or subscribe to my feeds. We’ll see if I can seperate them properly.  I should be adding to these items daily from now on.  On this same note of changes, this blog will be moving shortly to a much more conducive space even allowing for a small community of our own if we so desire, and by we, I mean If I hear back from you, our readers that you would like one. Another of the Changes you will see coming to our blog is a New Face.  You’ve had a just a sampling of his writing to now, but I do believe Rich Kaplan will be a regular Contributor here from Now On.  I’m very happy to annouce this because his expertise is unrivaled and there is just something about a super-intelligent, AND has common sense AND is really nice person AND who dedicates time to the United Nations for free that, well,  is a total turn-on, or would be if I wasn’t an extremely happily married woman. Also, I support the United Nations, The Peacekeepers and what the United Nations is working to Accomplish including the prosecution of hundreds of cases all over the globe of Human Trafficking and the prosecution of Human Rights Violators.  I will make it a priority to post a page with all the organizations I support as soon as I can.

 The one quality which I find consistent in these organizations is how the members risk their lives for perfect strangers.  My definition of a true hero. 

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights from Seth Brau http://www.humanrightsactioncenter.org Created by Seth Brau Produced by Amy Poncher Music by Rumspringa courtesy Cantora Record  

The Structure of the United Nations Human Rights Bodies and Mechanisms.

English: Organisational chart produced by the ... English: Human Rights logo: "FREE AS A MA...

English: Stamp of Moldova: 50th anniversary of...
English: Stamp of Moldova: 50th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
First article of the Universal Declaration of ...
First article of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in English, written with a spelling-based pointed mode of tengwar. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
English: Israeli stamp marking the 10th annive...
English: Israeli stamp marking the 10th anniversary of the adoption by the United Nations of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights Русский: Израильская марка в честь десятилетия Всеобщей декларации прав человека עברית: הבול הישראלי שהונפק לכבוד עשור ההכרזה לכל באי עולם בדבר זכויות האדם (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Беларуская (тарашкевіца): Паштовая марка ААН «...
Беларуская (тарашкевіца): Паштовая марка ААН «Правы чалавека» (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Беларуская (тарашкевіца): Паштовая марка ААН «...
Беларуская (тарашкевіца): Паштовая марка ААН «Правы чалавека» (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
United Nations Human Rights Council logo.
United Nations Human Rights Council logo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Locations of current UN peacekeeping missions
Locations of current UN peacekeeping missions (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
¹Heart-Strings: Definition as applied here: Old American Slang for something which is ‘tied’ to your heart and keeps tugging on those strings to make you notice it all the time, everywhere you go, in a healthy, notice it, take note of it, want to make it better, but not obsessive about it. 
